Skip Navigation

  1. City Departments
  2. City Services
  3. Online Payments
  4. My Profile
    1. New User Registration
    2. Existing User Login
    3. Schedule Payment Instructions
  5. Meetings

Common Council

Legislative Branch - The Common Council

The City of Buffalo is comprised of nine (9) Common Council Districts and each district is represented by a Common Council Member who is normally elected to serve a four (4) year term of office.

If a vacancy occurs in the office of the district council member otherwise than by expiration of the term of office, then the remaining Common Council members appoint a qualified resident of the same political party and district, to fill the vacancy until the first day of January following the next general election, whereupon a successor who will serve the remainder of the original term, is determined by garnering a majority of the votes cast in such election.

The President, President Pro-Tempore, and Majority and Minority Leaders of the Common Council, are selected by and from the Common Council members to serve in a Leadership position for a two (2) year period.

The Leadership Designation of Minority Leader of the Common Council is currently vacant since all members of the Common Council are of the same political affiliation.

To learn more about your District Common Council Member, click on their name.

Common Council Districts