Skip Navigation

  1. City Departments
  2. City Services
  3. Online Payments
  4. My Profile
    1. New User Registration
    2. Existing User Login
    3. Schedule Payment Instructions
  5. Meetings

Home > Leadership > Mayor > Archived Press Releases > 2012 Archives > May 2012 > Mayor Brown Appointed To Governor Cuomo’s NY Works Task Force

Mayor Brown Appointed To Governor Cuomo’s NY Works Task Force

Contact: Lorey Schultz
               (716) 851-5545

Today, Mayor Byron W. Brown was named one of 13 members on Governor Andrew Cuomo’s New York Works Task Force, a panel made up of leading finance, labor, planning and transportation professionals who will coordinate a statewide infrastructure plan that will more effectively allocate New York’s capital investment funding, and create thousands of jobs.  Mayor Brown is the only member from Western New York.

“I am honored to be one of the nine members appointed by Governor Cuomo,” said Mayor Brown.  “New York Works is designed to change how the state invests in, plans and builds infrastructure projects throughout the state, accelerating development and putting people back to work by rebuilding the state’s infrastructure.”

The 2012-13 Budget established the New York Works Task Force to coordinate, streamline and prioritize the building and rebuilding of bridges, highways, parks and other projects in New York State.  The Governor also announced today that 101 projects contracts, consisting of $133 million in infrastructure improvements, have been opened for bidding.  A dozen of the transportation projects on the list are in Western New York.

“I thank Governor Cuomo for the opportunity to serve on this panel of distinguished leaders,” said Mayor Brown.  “NY Works means new jobs for hardworking people across the State and right here in Buffalo.”
The NY Works Task Force will consist of fifteen members.  Nine of those members were appointed by the Governor, and six by the Legislature.  In addition to Mayor Brown, the other panel members include:

Denis Hughes, Former President, NYS AFL-CIO, Co-chair
Felix Rohatyn, Former Chairman, Municipal Assistance Corporation, Co-chair
Michael Fishman, President, SEIU Local 32BJ
Peter Goldmark, Program Director for Climate and Air, Environmental Defense Fund
Gary LaBarbera, President, NYC Building & Construction Trades Council
Carol Kellerman, President Citizens Budget Commission
Mayor Stephanie Miner, Mayor of Syracuse
Robert Yaro, President, Regional Plan Association
John Cameron, Chairman, Long Island Regional Planning Council
Robert Mujica, Chief of Staff to the Senate Majority and Secretary to the Senate Finance Committee
Ron Canestrari, Assembly Majority Leader
Herman D. Farrell, Chairman of the Assembly Ways and Means Committee